Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The just article claims that diary products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis. To bolster this claim, the author of the article cites a long-term study of a large number of people. Although, at the surface the argument seems quite convincing but a deeper dive into the assumptions upon which the claim hinges shows that those assumptions are unwarranted, thus, the claim currently stands unpersuasive.

First, the author of the author erroneously asserts that milk and diary product prevent osteoporosis simply because the are rich in vitamin D and calcium. The author does not provide any empirical data or research study to bolster such a claim. Though such products may be rich in these minerals but they may not come in a quantity that is enough to prevent the disease. The assumption in this case is unwarranted, in order to bolster this claim, the author should substantiate it with clear evidence. Otherwise there exist no bases for such claim.

Secondly, the long-term study that was conducted fails to substantiate if the participants that had higher rate of bone fractures was caused by environment or genetic factors. There is a possibility that diseases that are associated by genes may not be remedied by milk and diary products despite the fact that those products may be rich in vitamin D and calcium. The author in this case have not provided any evidence that shows that these products prevent osteoporosis especially the ones that are associated with genetics or environmental factors.

Even if these products can prevent osteoporosis, the study erroneous associated the high rate of bone fractures with osteoporosis. Bone fractures may be caused by a number of things such as car accidents or engaging in a violent act. What if a significant number of people who participated in this study engage in activities that are not safe or risky and prone to accidents. If this is indeed the case, the claim amounts to a particularly unreasonable one.

Finally, for the argument to be persuasive, the author must substantiate with evidence that milk and diary products have sufficient vitamin D and calcium to prevent osteoporosis, that the participants of the study did not have inherent preconditions associated with osteoporosis and the high rate of fractures is as a result of the consumption of diary products only. Less, the claim is unsound