The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily Newspaper:

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league softball and soccer. Over 80,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league softball players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure from coaches and parents. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages apparently outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

The author indicates that people in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competitions for children under nine because the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. To support the argument, the author points out that as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. Also, a recent study declares that youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents. Besides, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. However, the assumptions of the argument should be stated more to support the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the recent interviewed study is reliable, but the credibility is suspicious. The author should mention more about the number of interviewees in the study and indicate the representative of those people. Since it only declares youth-league soccer players in several major cities reported pressure, which cannot represent that other cities’ youth-league soccer players have the same issues. Moreover, the number of people who take part in the study needed to be specific to support the argument.

In addition, the author assumes that education experts, say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities, are reliable. However, the number of experts who claim this point should be declared to support the assumption since more experts can represent the profession. Also, long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities needed to be proved since the long practice sessions may not generate a negative influence when the time arrangement is proper.

Finally, the author assumes that the disadvantages of athletic competition for children under nine outweigh any advantages, which is also needed to be proved since the author only declares disadvantages. There might be many advantages of athletic competition which are positive for

children, for instance, athletic competition can teach children about fair game and cooperation, and exercises can stay children’s health that makes them stronger.

In general, in order to support the argument, that people in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine, the author declares several assumptions, including youth-league soccer players in several major cities reported psychological pressure in a recent study, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities, and there are various disadvantages, but more details are needed to prove the argument.