Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With the rapid development of modern technologies, people tend to have the feeling that the current world has become fundamentally different from the past. That arise the discussion of whether it is still useful for people to know about the past. Some people claim that it is simply a waste of time to learn about the past, because the modern world has become so complex that the past cannot help in any way for current issues. This essay is going to argue that although it is true that the modern world is significantly more complicated, knowing about the past would still be extremely useful.

First of all, the claim, knowing about the past cannot help people to make decisions related to present issues, overlooks the past elements in a large amount of modern decision making. For example, when deciding whether to accept Syrial refugees, the reason Germany finally decided to accept can be largely attributed to the lesson they learnt from the First and Second World War. The acknowledgement of racial equality and the longingness for peace makes Germans decide to help Syrians at the cost of financial deficits and social unrestfulness. Another example could be the formation of the European Union. The reason that increasingly more European nations decide to join the Union is because of their willingness to collectively develop the resources in Europe and fearfulness of conflicts. Therefore, all these examples have clearly shown that past experience plays an indispensable role in present decision making.

Although the claim does not sound right, the reason given has indeed reveal some truthfulness. It is undeniable that the current world has become strikingly complicated at a rapid pace. A significant factor leading to this complication is the development of technology. The convenience of traveling makes it easier for global trade. Statistics from the World Bank suggests that over 90% of the world population are using products producing globally on a daily basis. Furthermore, global trade increases the interdependence of nations. Decisions made by China would have impacts on the UK instantaneously through a complicated chain. Hence, modern decision making may require more thorough considerations compared with the past.

However, the connection between the reason and the claim is not without flaws. Admittedly, people should not follow past decisions in a pedantic and formulaic manner, i.e., give exactly

the same reaction no matter how circumstances changes. Learning from the past is still possible, nevertheless. When facing political exploitions, the peaceful reaction of Gandhi might inciting people to seek legal and wise tools to express their dissatisfaction. Alternatively, developing countries could learn from the past of developed countries, looking for approaches to develop their economy and culture. For instance, Japan successfully achieved the leap from an underdeveloped Asian country to the 3rd largest economy by following the example of the US, although the situations that Japan had to face was much more complex than the United States in the late 19th century. Thus, it is plausible to argue that the world being more complex does not necessarily mean that people have no need to look back.

To conclude, this essay has argued that, although the world has become dramatically more complicated, it is still worth knowing about the past and learning from it to help out decisions to current issues. Further studies could be conducted on the best ways to adjust past decisions in the context of the modern world. Only if we are familiar with the past can we better prepare ourselves for the more complex present.