The following appeared in a business magazine.

“As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author argues that the canned tuna did not pose a health risk after the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Since the author believes that the chemists who test on samples of the recalled cans declare that five of eight food chemicals are not found in any of the tested cans. Also, those chemists point out that small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals occur naturally in all canned foods. However, there are several questions needed to ask in order to support the argument is reliable.

First of all, questions about the authority of chemists and the number of testing samples should be asked like, are those chemists reliable and how many cans are tested. The chemists should be professional and reliable for the public about the testing results, but the chemists here are from Promofoods. Therefore, they might lie in order to keep the reputation of the company, so the question about whether they are reliable is necessary. Besides, the question about the number of testing needed to be asked to support the argument since although there are eight million cans returned for testing and the chemists get the conclusion, how many tested cans is important to indicate credibility and representativeness.

In addition, are there other chemicals causing dizziness and nausea should be asked. The author demonstrates that five of eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea were not found in any of the tested cans, and they declare that small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals occur naturally in all canned foods. However, it is significant to ask that do chemists find no other chemicals in canned tuna since there might be other chemicals that lead to dizziness and nausea, instead of these five chemicals. Moreover, in the declaration, three remaining suspected chemicals occur naturally in all canned foods, reliable could be another question to ask in order to make the argument reasonable.

Finally, how many cans of tuna are actually sold is another question worth asking and caring about. Even though the Promofoods company requested eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing, the ratio of the number of cans sold and returned cans is crucial to support the argument, so knowing how many cans of tuna are actually sold in the market is useful. If there is plenty of amount of canned tuna is sold, eight million returned canned tuna might be insufficient for testing the exact situation of chemicals causing dizziness and nausea.

In general, questions including is the chemists reliable, how many samples does the chemist test, is there another chemical causing dizziness and nausea, and how many cans of tuna are actually sold, are significant to ask in order to prove that the argument, the canned tuna of Promofoods did not pose a health risk after testing, is reasonable.