The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing:

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our deluxe alpaca overcoats. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has risen in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

In the vice president’s view , resuming production of alpaca overcoat is beneficial is based on several reasons. The first one is that he thought because no manufacturer is willing to produce the overcoat like they was 5 years ago, so as the only manufacturer, they must be lucrative. However, the author incorrectly assume that the market is willing to buy the alpaca coat like they used to be 5 years ago. There is a news report 3 years ago, asserting that the high quality wool fabric the vice president had difficulties to obtain has been derived from sheep that contracted with chronical diseases. What’s more, there has been endless complaint from the customers that they suffered skin diseases when they put on alpaca overcoats since they were first sold many years ago. If vice president cannot offer evidence to counter these hypothesis, it's inappropriate to say resuming production is lucrative.

The second one is that the vice president thought that people will pay more for expensive clothes and they must be willing to pay more to buy alpaca overcoat than 5 years ago and it’s obviously profitable. However , vice president mistakenly assume that people tend to pay more for expensive clothes is because they want to pursue more luxurious products because the economic situation is becoming better and better. What’s more , a well-adapted survey showed that the reputation of the alpaca overcoat made by such so-called high quality wool fabric is notorious, and thought as inexpensive. And it’s no reason to say that the outdated alpaca overcoat is still be regarded as luxury 5 years later despite its high quality wool fabric materials. If the vice president cannot offer some concrete evidence to prove that the overcoat is still fashionable and worthy of the more expensive price, it’s too hasty to say that resuming production is profitable