The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per the memo from vice president of Sartorian, there would be a steep increase in company's profits, after an old popular product is resumed. But this assertion takes into account a number of assumptions, three of which are presented below.

Firstly, as per Vice-President, a product which was in popular demand five years ago, will still be highly appreciated among the public. But, this does not take into consideration the fact that, fashion is highly volatile. Once a popular fashion five years ago, might be obscured by now. In today's cosmopolitan world, trends are very short-lived, and the access to social media disseminates a change in trend really fast. Thus, it would not be wise to have a narrow and myopic approach in defining the success of a clothing product. Therefore, this decision of continuing a paused clothing product, incorporates an assumption that there will not be a change in popular fashion, and needs to be substantiated with evidence to hold any water.

Secondly, even if we discount the change in the popular fashion statement, the Vice-President emphasised that a new fabric supplier has resulted in continuation of production. But, there is no comparative analysis provided regarding the quality of the newly supplied fabric with that of the fabric previously in use. As per the current consumer needs, apart for the aesthetics, the buyers look for a utilitarian use as well. The quality plays an indispensable role in acceptability of a good as a primary choice, and consequently reflecting in company's sales. Maybe the new fabric is of a low-grade quality and would result in complaints filled by the consumers. Thus, it might tarnish the reputation of the firm instead of resulting profitable. Therefore, an effective proof is needed to corroborate the assumption that the new fabric would be of estimable quality.

Thirdly, if we assume that the quality and the trend would be in favour of the company, there should be an accurate estimate provided regarding the feasibility of profits. As the prices of raw material keep on increasing, the profit margins maintained by the company declines. Once a profitable product might not be promising today, due to increase in the cost of production which might be affected by the political and economical changes. Therefore, the continuation of the product might lead to loses instead of profits as claimed by the Vice-President. Thus, it essential to plan out the feasibility of profits in the current economic environment, and no evidence provided to support this.

Conclusively, the Vice-President's remark incorporates many underlying assumptions which should be substantiated with evidence to hold true.