If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, people are willing go to any extent to fulfil their dreams. I disagree with the prompt that any mean mechanism of attaining the goal is justifiable, even if the goal if worthy. Following are the two illustrations and a concession to support this.

Firstly, in this selfish and cunning world people are willing to jeopardise anything just to be able to move ahead in accomplishing this goal. They are ready to sacrifice the morals, law and ethics. However, these means of achieving goals put a wrong standard in front of the next generation. There should not be any compromise of morality in attaining a cause, no matter how pious or religious it is. Because the idea of a goal being scared and beneficial is always subjective. For instance, one specific community attaining freedom from a regime may be specify it as a revolution, but the same idea would be perceived as separatism/terrorism by the other side. So, carrying out violence against the innocent people will in no way justify the cause, consequently it will help in undermining the same cause. Therefore, no matter how important the cause is, it of utmost importance to follow the peaceful and ethical means in attaining it. As per the Gandhi's philosophy, it important to practice non-violence and truthfulness, even if you are fighting. against a tyrannical regime. This supports the assertion, that no immoral and unethical means undertaken for gaol achievement are justifiable.

Secondly, our history has a lot of examples in which if a person or a group utilises unprofessional or unethical means to achieve a goal, would be left in wane in future. Because, no matter how hard you try to hide the truth, it will definitely come out in public. For example, if a person is bad at clearing a LSAT exam, and instead of studying and working hard for it, he pays a brighter student to undertake the exam for him/her. The exam would be cleared but, would he/she be able to become a good lawyer? The answer to this question would always be "No". It justifiable to be passionate regarding achieving your goals but one should never cross the legal and moral obligations.

Finally, some may argue that in a particular situation it of best interest to bend a few rules to achieve a specific to goal which would be of salubrious to everyone involved. But, while doing this are we setting a good standard for our future generation? And, as per my opinion we are not, and in the long run this will cause devastating effects.

In conclusion, I believe one should always adhere to the moral and ethical obligation in pursuing goals, no matter how indispensable they are.