The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per the health newsletter, the dramatic increase in the number of the accidents in recent years is due to the fact that, riders feel safe after wearing helmets, and tend to take more risks. The author takes into account following three assumptions while coming to this conclusion.

Firstly, the author stated that a nationwide study conducted regarding the effectiveness of the helmets would provide acceptable and worthwhile results. As per the study, the number of bicyclists reported wearing helmets rose from 35 percent to 80 percent, but no evidence is provided regarding the authenticity of this study. Maybe the bicyclists reported wearing helmets, just to help themselves, not getting caught breaking the law. Thus, the low evidence regarding the authenticity of the study of effectiveness of wearing helmets, the author's conclusions are not valid.

Secondly, even if the above study is accounted, the author states another study, which states that the number of the accidents rose by 200 percent. There are numerous assumptions which are taken into account while concluding from this theory. The study does not take into account the rise in traffic, which may also be a factor in the increase in the number of accidents. Also, the terrain on which the accidents occurred is also discounted. As the riders, riding in difficult terrains are more vulnerable towards accidents. All these assumptions regarding the study needs to substantiated with evidence and reasoning for the author's argument to hold water.

Finally, the authors presents that an education program launched by the government for edifying the riders regarding the safety will cause the number of accidents to decrease. This presents an assumption that only factors concerning the riders are responsible for the fatalities. It discounts the other factors like traffic control, road safety, quality of infrastructure. Even after the edification, if the roads are of poor quality the accidents will keep on rising. If there are no proper norms in place regarding the road safety, it will also support the increase in number of accidents. Therefore, authors needs to provide more evidence that factors concerning riders are responsible for accidents, and his/her conclusion is not valid.

In conclusion, the author's assertion that increase in number of accidents in recent years is due the factors involving the riders taking more risk is flawed. The author needs to substantiate the argument with more evidence which will help in elucidating the argument more effectively.