To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree with the prompt that an effective leader should be the one having high morals and ethical traits. Following are two reasons and a concession to support this thesis.

Firstly, a leader with great moral and ethical standard would pave the way for more holistic development of a society. The leaders define the base and rudiments of a community, and the skeleton cannot be created with immorality and deception. The decisions undertaken by the leaders effect the whole population, and it is of high importance to choose ethical and moral leader, for these decisions to be egalitarian and progressive. Similarly, a public official who is responsible for providing a specific service, cannot be breach the barriers of bias and ethics. If that happens, then the people in power would have more accessibility than a normal citizen. Moreover, the values shown by our leaders define the cultural and social state of our society. For example, during the World War II, Nazism was a cruel and immoral ideology disseminated by Adolf Hitler, which in turn, led to the social and cultural decadence of Nazi Germany. Moreover, all the public servants who supported Hitler in his sins were prosecuted after the war ended. This presents us with an example that no society can flourish with it's leaders and public officials showing patterns of immorality.

Secondly, a leader is always adulated by the citizens, and any action undertaken by him or her will have an implicit effect on them. Sometimes this deification leads to an intense level, like there are examples of temples being built for worshiping a leader. Thus, it can be inferred that, any action or statement can have a paramount reaction. Therefore, with great power comes great responsibility, and it is duty of public officials to maintain decorum and progressive nature. For instance, a leader indifferent to climate change and sustainable development will spread these ideas to the younger generation and the followers, consequently having a detrimental effect on the planet. Thus, for saving our planet form degrading, it is important to have leaders corroborating conservation and green energy. Apart from this, in any specific area a leader's ethical and moral standards would be indispensable in spreading a positive message among the society.

Thirdly, some may argue the other side of the prompt's assertion that, under specific factors and circumstances it might be fruitful to breach the level of ethics and morals which in turn would be productive considering the bigger picture. But, this assertion is valid if the chances of those immoral and un-ethical practices are very low and they might not cross the limit causing mass destruction. However, it does not take much time to develop a habit of miscreant.

Conclusively, it is of prime importance for a leader and a public servant to practice and endorse morals and ethics, which will definitely be fruitful for our society.