To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An effective leader is characterised by his virtue, his ability to lead and work in a group setting. Though there are some rudimentary characteristics that a leader should possess, to list all such characteristics would be prolix. The prompt contends that for a public official to be an effective leader, he or she must maintain the acme of ethical and moral standards. I moderately agree with the prompt for the following three reasons.

A good and effective leader is majorly judged by his or her ability to drive a specific group towards success. Trust is one of the key factors in human communication and thus, germane to leaders. That is, the said leader should be able to work in a group and, deal with ineluctable scuffles (verbal or physical) as they arise. In doing so, it is prudent to earn the respect of his friends or people that identify with the group. People usually seem to have a predilection or an unspoken reverence for officials who adhere to ethical and moral standards. Because if officials do not, it would not be possible for their people to trust them in circumstances arising in the future. They may loose faith in their leader and relinquish the group they once identified with. For instance, consider Mahatma Gandhi. Arguably, one of the finest leaders India has witnessed. He was the epitome of a moral human and advocated the same. He believed in the virtue of ethics and truth. If he did not exhibit the moral standards that he is now known for, his supporters would have lost faith in him. Since majority of his rebellions or mutinies were based on moral grounds and ‘what is right’, it seemed decorous and shrewd to withhold the honour code of human conduct: ethics and morals. Had he not done so, we would have never learned about the great leader. Therefore, to be an effective leader, there is a need to maintain ethical and moral standards.

Additionally, a set of ethics and morals to abide by, aids in arriving at a decision that is more often that not, acceptable to all peers (or people of the group). Having a set of well documented rules and guidelines helps to make an almost indisputable decision in case of scuffles. In case of a schism within the group, in absence of such ethics and moral guidelines, no decision would seem conclusive to the divided parties. Any decision, in someway could be imputed to the interests of other party and, deemed as unacceptable. Consider an example of a group leader who does not abide by morals or any honour code of conduct. In case of disputes within the group, the leader needs to take a stance. If he or she fails to do so, the group dissolutes and the leader looses his power. On the other hand, if he takes a position, his decision can be, in most cases, attributed to his self interest and his own conscious. Therefore, either one of the parties if not both will be unhappy with decision. Even if they acquiesce once, if similar situation or scuffles arises again and the leader takes a stance again in favour of the party he had once ’sided-with’, there is a high probability of split in the group. All these events unravel as part of human nature. To make a decision and stand conclusively, there is a need for the leader to maintain ethical and moral standards and adhere to said conducts.

Although it seems decorous for an official to abide by such standards, in some situation it might be crucial to go against such standard and taken a decision for the well-being of the faction as whole. Some situations may arise where the leader may have to weigh the dos and donts. People are faced with such predicaments many times in their lives. But in the case of a leader, his decision does not only impact himself, but all the people in the coterie. For instance, for the development of the group and well-being of his people, a leader might need to fabricate to the authorities to vindicate the accused. Such acts, however, should be done only at the proposition that the accused will not, in any case do such acts again. In this case, the leader has to weigh out the effect on the group in case he does not help vindicate the accused (person of the group) and, in the other he does. In the former, he evidently does against the ethics and morals he once abided by.

In any case, the leader should cater to the needs of his people, abide by certain ethical and moral standards while making well-being of his followers the central theme of his decisions.