Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt concludes to impede or axe the ongoing vaccination drive against cow flu, pervasive in an area. The author makes the conclusion on the evidence that a person who has taken the said inoculation, has a small probability of dying. However, there are three unstated assumptions in the mentioned argument that need to be addresses before the argument can be evaluated further.

Firstly, the author contends that there is a small chance of the vaccine being fatal. We need to ask, what is the probability of a person dying due to the inoculation? Among the people who have died due to the vaccines, was there a trend of medical history associated with the departed patients? It maybe the case that only 10 out of 1000 vaccinated citizens found the vaccine fatal, and, all of them had the same health condition, say, high blood pressure or diabetes. If this is the case, the vaccine is actually benign, unless the patient has a certain medical history that should be considered before vaccinating him/her. The author does not provide any evidence to support his claim about the vaccines being life-threatening. We need to administer the effect of vaccines on a certain set of people, know their somatic details, and medical history before concluding the degree of 'fatality' of the inoculations.

Moreover, the author presents no evidence on the 'success' of the vaccines in any regions. Are the inoculations actually successful against cow flu? What were the results of the clinical trials, that are mandated before declaring the vaccines 'safe' for public use? The presented argument does not present any data that supports or avers the benignity of the cow flu cure. It may be the case that the vaccines are actually ineffective against cow flu. Or, none or not-enough clinical trials have been done on the vaccines. These clinical trials could have acted as a harbinger of lethal medicines. Due to the lack of trials, the drug administrators do not the reactions the vaccines may be causing in a patient's body. We need some evidence in the form of clinical reports or, any trial that has been done on some population to corroborate the effectiveness of inoculations.

Even if we assume that the vaccinations are safe for public use (and effective against cow flu), people might have died due to over-dose. The author has not mentioned who administers the vaccination of the people of affected area. It may happen that authority has asked the patients to vaccinate themselves, or an untrained nurse to vaccine the population. Due to ack of training, the administrator may inject a lethal amount of medicine in the body of the affected. If the administrators are trained professionals, then this assumption can be ruled out (but we still need to consider the other two). However, if this is case, the argument is bogus. With proper training and vaccine amount, the affected people can be saved against cow flu.

Due to lack of data and, evidence to support the unstated assumptions, the argument in question, stands flawed. Perhaps a research survey, in the form of clinical trials, might present enough proof to validate the mentioned argument. Other form of data collecting like surveys and training logitics is also needed before we can further impugn the statement.