Unmanned versus manned space exhibitions.

The author of the letter contends that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight by attributing manned space flights, its alternative, as dangerous and costly. He draws this conclusion from the recent success of series of unmanned space missions which have bestowed mankind with useful information. However, there are three questions that need to be addressed before one can establish the accuracy of the statement.

Firstly, do we know out of how many attempts for unmanned missions, the mission was completed successfully? That is, what is probability that an unmanned mission will be successful, given its history of attempts? It might be the case that out of hundred attempts, only recent ten have ben successful, but they have provided with pertinent information. In such a case, considering one unmanned mission costs millions of dollars, there is an evident loss to the responsible agency. If the probability of an unmanned mission failing is greater than the probablity of a manned mission failing, then it is not prudent to invest in unmanned space flight. We need some statistics regarding the 'success' of unmanned missions before we can evaluate the argument further.

Secondly, is the net profit imputed to unmanned flights greater than manned flights? That is, do we have a standarized metric that can evaluate the profit incurred with each of the kind of flights? It may happen that around hundred attempts of manned mission costs have a net profit (total profit minus cost of perations) of about one billion dollars, implying ten million dollar net profit per mission. While, ten unmanned space flights produced a net profit of ten million dollars, ascribing on average one million dollar net profit per mission. Clearly in this case, the manned space flights are more lucrative than unmanned space flights. Since the argument does not provide such data, it is not possible to give a resolute conclusion.

Moreover, in how many cases has a system failure (of a space prob) caused abortion of the space mission in unmanned space flights? It is possible that in manned space fights, owing to the presence of a human on deck, such system failures can be handled in-place without affecting the end goal of the mission. Consider, for instance, a case where a small technical error causes the mission to fail in unmanned space flight as it could not be redressed remotely. While, the same error in a manned space flight was solved a technician (part of the crew). If the frequency of such cases is hire, the unmanned missions may result in bigger losses than manned space flights. We need some statistics to corroborate or deny possibility of such instances and evaluate the given conclusion.

The statement, in conclusion, stands flawed. There is a need to collect some data using past mission details. Only when such the data is provided, we can test the underlying assumptions and, conclude the relevance (or irrelevance) of the given arg.