The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The investment firms suggests its client to invest in Consolidated Industries, whose one of the major business is retail sale of home heating oil. This suggestion was made with the premise that sale and demand of home heating oil is predicted to rise in the northeastern area of United States pertaining to expected drop in temperatures in the coming years and population growth. Therefore, an investment in the aforementioned should yield great profits to the addressed client. However, there are three unstated assumptions that need to be analysed, before we can corroborate or deny the mentioned investment suggestion.

According to the firm, new homes are being built on the area as a response to population growth. But will the new homes rely on the same level of technology as old (already existing) houses? It may happen that the contractors in charge of building the homes have upgraded the technology and, instead of relying on fuel for heating, the new homes have built-in centrally heating system or an electric heater. Additionally, it is plausible that habitants have lived there for generations. And they might not have adjusted to new technologies. However, people who plan to move there might be open to new technological advances and thus use better heating systems (that do not use heating oil). If the listed situations have merit, then the conclusion draw by the firm based on the evidence is flawed.

Moreover, the firm lists population growth as one of the reasons for investment in heating oil. Even if we assume that the newly built homes will rely on oil based heating, do we know if the habitants of the place won’t relinquish their homes in the Northeastern United States following the harsh (below-normal) weather conditions? That is, will the population grow with the same trend in the next year and beyond? It may so happen that in one year people reside in the newly built homes. Since forecasters have predicted further drops in temperature, it is reasonable to expect that oil based heating might not be sufficient to provide the residents the required heat. Hence, majority of the population might move out and abandon their homes. It implies that the demand of heating fuel will decrease thereby posing a high risk to the said investor. If we do not get data for this unstated assumption, or the mentioned situations arise, then the conclusion is fallacious.

Even if the above two arguments reason with the stated conclusion, can we argue that Consolidated Industries, having other businesses too will not change its focus on the home heating oil? In other words, can we expect instead of focussing on its other business operations, Consolidated Industries will keep on retailing home heating oil. There might be a situation where the said industry is supplying oil to not just Northeastern United States but other cold regions too. If the demand of oil abates in the other regions (where we expect that the industry serves), it may shut down its operations pertinent to oil retailing. It may use that investment (in heating oil) for its other, perhaps more lucrative branches (business operations). If such cases are corroborated with evidence, then the conclusion drawn on the assumptions is specious.

In culmination, the argument presented by the firm is inadequate. There is a need of a data collection experiment or robust predictive mechanisms which can account for the listed unstated assumptions. Only when the firm can offer evidence for the three questions using some techniques, we can further evaluate the firm’s recommendation to the client regarding investment in Consolidated Industries for home heating oil.