The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The firm providing advice to a client in their letter concludes that investing in Consolidates Industries which sells heating oil would be profitable investment. To prove their point the firm mentioned about the usuage of heating oil in most homes of northeastern region of United States. However, the argument made by the firm rests on series of assumptions that are unpersuasive and illogical. This would be proved in the following essay.

First, the firm mentions that majority of homes in northeastern region of United States used heating oil as their major fuel for heating. The firm has not mentioned about the exact number of houses in which heating oil is used. The word "most" is a vague way to provide a fact as it results in multiple interpretations. The firm should provide an exact number of houses in which heating oil is used as major fuel, this would help them to increase the strength of their claim.

Secondly, the firm mentions that people are going to keep using oil as heating fuel as the weather pattern of the area is going to remain same for many upcoming years. There is no mentioned about the fact from which the firm is claiming this. It could happen that the prediction was not made by a proper institute and the method which the instistute used to make a prediction about the weather is wrong. There is a possibilty that due to some natural calmaity like a cyclone the weather of the area is experiencing such an extreme climatic condition. So, the firm should consider all these facts before coming to a final judgement.

Thirdly, the letter mentions that many new homes are being bulit in the region to accomodate the rising population growth. There is a possiblity that the new homes would come with the latest technologies like electric heaters and air conditioners(AC) to control the temperature inside the house. So, there would not be any requirement for the residents to buy oil to be used as fuel. Furthermore, the firm mentions that the client should invest in Consolidated Industries, which runs a major business in selling retail home heating oil. But the firm does not mentions about the profit made by the company or what is the revenue which the company generates. It could happen that eventhough the company has a major business operation, it could be experiencing losses. Unless, we are presented with the exact number of profits which the company makes it would be wrong to invest in a company.

In conclusion, the firm should consider all the facts which are mentioned above. The firm should conduct a survey, so we could get to know that what is the exact requirement of heating oil. In addition, the firm should investigate more about the company in which they are suggesting the client to invest. Only after a proper analysis is done the firm should advice a client to invest in a company.