Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

In today's world where the deforestation and depletment of natural resources is happening at a extreme rate, if nothing is done right now than in few years there won't be any type of natural habitat. Passing laws on preserving any type of wilderness in their natural state would have many advantages. I totally agree with the author on the topic that for economic gain natural habitat should not be harm. It would be very inhuman thing to destroy an area for the growth of humans.

If we destroy a natural habitat of an area than it would be effect all the living organism living in that area, including humans. Let's us understand this by an example. If a river direction is change, so that the water is receive by a factory near by, than by doing this the land near the river would become unfertile and the farmers would be affected. The farmers would have to used more fertilizers to grow there crop and eating the food with chemical fertilizers would be harmful on human health. The plants growing near the river would also be affected. The plants in the river which is the primary source of food for the fish would be destroyed as a result the fishes in the river would die.

If the forest is cut down to make space for industrialization and making new cities than it would have a adverse effect on the environment overall. Forest are like the lungs of the earth. They help in reducing the carbon dioxide from the air and increase oxygen in the air. Forest helps to bring rain in the area which makes the area fertile and the water problems reduces. If we cut down the forest than the wild animals would not have place to live and enough food. They would often come out of the forest in search of food and shelter and harm the life of human. Even if we shift them to a natural reserve there is a high probability that the animal would not be able to adapt to the confine space and would die.

If there is deforestation on the mountains to make roads and for mining the gems and metals which helps in boasts the economic growth, it comes with a problem. Cutting the forest would make the soil lose and landslides increases. There is high need to pass laws by the nation to preserve any type of wilderness area in their natural state, even on cost of economic gain. Human are intelligent organism and they would find ways to make money even without harming the natural habitat. If we destroy the natural habitat than the animals living within in would become extinct. To maintain a natural balance in the environment it is important to save the habitat