The following is taken from a memo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company in his memo, concludes that to increase the number of customers they should raise the budget of advertising next year. To prove his point the director mentions that the percentage of positive review of the movies have not gone down, so this means many people are not aware of the movies which are getting release. The argument made by the director rests on series of assumptions that are unpersuasive and illogical. This would be proved in the following essay.

First, the director mentions that last-year fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies compare to any other year. However, there is no mention that is this the case for a particular location or in general trend, because it could happen that in some region people might have reduce going to the movies. It could also happen that due to inflation people have started cutting their cost. So, to save money people are avoiding to spend money on entertainment. Unless, we know exactly the amount of people who are attending the movie, it would be a waste of money and effort to adverstise everwhere.

Secondly, the director has claim that the quality of movies has not degraded as the percentage of positive reviews have increased. Using percentage to describe a fact is very vague. Percentage depends on the number of people that participates. It might happen that fewer people are attending the movie but they are liking the movie, so the percentage has not fallen. It could have happen that less people atended the movie so the postive percentage is greater. So, the director should mention the exact number of people who were attending movies before and what is the curent number.

Thirdly, the director believes that by allocating greater share of money in advertising, Super Screen Movie Production Company would be able to increase its customer based. However, it could happen that some other production company producing similar content to Super Screen Movie, is providing the tickets at lower price. Furthermore is might also happen that the people have found some other forms of entertainment like stand-up comedy, dramas, shopping mall, gaming centers, and much more to entertain them. So, more number of people are attending them instead of going to movies. So, even if the company spends more money on advertisment it would not be fruitful.

In conclusion, the director should carefully analyse all the facts which are mention above. By increasing the greater share on advertising, then the company would have to make some cut backs somewhere else and this might affect the company overall progress. The director should think of the larger picture rather than immediate benefits. A proper cost analysis should be done by the director before coming to any final judgement.