The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the application made by a group of developers for a small-business loan states, that it would be beneficial if they started a local jazz music club in Monroe. Group of developers has provided many reasons why their loan should be approved and the business would be profitable. However, these reasons lie on series of assumptions that are unpersuasive and illogical. Further decision on these points would be done in the following essay.

First, the developers states that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away from the city. So, they suggest that opening one nearer to the city would be profitable. However, developers has not mention how many people go to jazz club which is present. They have also not mention that, is the club profitable or not. We don't know that are people willing to go to the club or not. So, developers should conduct a survey, and the survey should include questions like 'how many people are willing to come to the new jazz club?', 'will people come to the club on regular basis or it would be one time thing?', and many more questions should be asked in the survey.

Secondly, the developers claim that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe. To validate this claim developers provided different facts like more than 100,000 people attended the Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and jazz is one of the highest-rated radio program in Monroe. It could happen that people only like to attend the annual summer program and would not like to listen to jazz everyday. It might also happen that the people like to hear jazz from the comfort of their home on radios rather then going to club and listening it live. It might also happen that very few residents of Monroe attended the annual summer festival and majority of the crowd were from different cities. So, without considering all these facts it would be illogical to assume that the new jazz club would be profitable.

Thirdly, the developers states that the club would be profitable as a typical jazz fan spends approx around thousand dollar each year on jazz. This data which the developers talked was taken across the nation and was not specific to the city of Monroe. It might happen so that people of Monroe only like to listen to jazz music and not spend money on it. So, without doing a proper cost analyses opening a new club would not be a prudent choice.

In conclusion, the developers should consider all the aforemention suggestion and points before deciding on opening a new jazz club. First, the developers should collect accurate data specific to city of Monroe and then decide whether opening a jazz club would be profitable or not. The developers should consider long term aspects and not an immediate one.