The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the letter written to the editor of a local newspaper, states that a bicyle lane would help to mitigate the rush-hour traffic on the Blue Highway. The letter concludes this on the base of differents assupmtions, which are unpersuaive and illogical. Here are a few key factors to prove it.

First, a survey was taken in which the majority choose for a seperate lane on a the highway which would also widen it. The letter, claims that this won't help to curb the traffic by stating that a similar move was done on Green Highway and the traffic worsen. There are many reasons due to which the traffic might have increased like, it could have happen that the Green highway is not so wide compare to Blue highway, so more number of cars would be stuck one behind the other. It could also happen that the commuters used Green highway often more than the Blue highway. It could, also happen that there are fequent accidents on the Green highway compare to Blue highway, so it might be a reason of increase in the traffic. Unless, all the factors are not seen we canot conclude anything.

Secondly, the letter claims that by adding a bicycle lane, it would be more helpful to reduce the traffic. To state this claim, the letter mentions that the residents of many area are keen bicyclists. We cannot assume that the would prefer going to offices on a cycle as they like to cycle, it could also happen that the resident only cycle as a hobby and would perfer going to work in an automobile. It could also happen that the residents only prefer to travel by a cycle during winters and not during monsoon and summers to avoid the rains and heat. Unless, a proper survey is done and we don't know exactly how many residents are willing to go to offic on a cycle, it would be illiogical to add bicycle lane.

Thirdly, the letter claims that there has been rise in traffic during the rush-hour on Blue highway. It could happen that the rise in traffic could be due to different reason like a different route might be close down for maintence, as a result the traffic is diverted to the Blue highway. It could also be possible that the fees which the government collects on the Green highway might have increased, so the people are selecting to travel by Blue highway. So, without looking at these facts we cannot conclude that there is a need to add a bicycle lane on the highway.

In conclusion, residents may choose to travel by a bicycle if a bicycle lane is added, but it could happen that they do it only intially, and stop in the future. So, without analysing the facts and knowing the exact reason why is there a rise in traffic, we cannot just conclude or decide to build a bicycle lane on the highway.