Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The role of government is to serve the people. The statement asserts that government should suspend funding provided to art sector and to justify the point author gives a reason the money should be spend on basic needs of the people. Initially seeing the statment it might appear appropriate, but conisdering all the facts and doing a proper analyses, I do not agree with the statement.

Art and culture plays an important role in a society. It helps to understand the belief of the people, the way they live, their traditionals, history of the place, and much more. Art and culture plays an important role in tourism, which plays an important role in a country's GDP. There are many countries in the would whose main source of income is torism and if the govenrment stops providing funds to maintain it then surely the economy would suffer. For instance, the city of Dubai which is located in UAE, earns their major money from tourist and if the govenment on someday decides to stop funding and mainting the art and culture then the country GDP would fall.

Since the stone age art has always find a place in human-kind. It is the way the people interact and pass information to the next generation. Though art we can come to know the history of the place for instance, painting found in different caves. Many people earn their income by selling arts. If the government stops supporting them then their lively hood would go and they would become unemployed. So, the govenment cannot stop providing funding to the art sector as many people lives depend on it. It might also happen that if the governement starts giving free food to the people, they might lose the motivation to work and would just sit ideal. This would not do any progress for the nation.

Not denyig the fact, that the govenment should always see the benefit of the citizen and see to it that their needs are getting fullied. The govenment should have different schemes which helps the people to be independednt and sufficient to provided for themselfes and their family. The government should look at a longer picture and do a proper analyses before shuting down funding to a sector.

In conclusion, art and culture are the ways in which one country earns its name in the world. For instance, 21st June is celebrated as the 'Yoga Day' in India, but now this day is not only celebrated within India but throughout different nations. This year it was celebrated in White House when the Prime Minister of India visited the Unitied States of America. So, art helps to promote a country and helps to increase relationship which other countries.