The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the committee planning a budget for a decade concludes that they should decrease funds provided to education, athletic playing fields, and other recreational facilities. They come to this solution on the basis of different facts and figures. The conclusion is based on assumptions which are unpersuasive and illogical. A few key factors to validate the point are:

First, the committee states the figure about the birthrate by comparing the last year figure to the figure of five years ago. According to this figure there has been a decrease in birthrate so, the committee predicts there will be less number of admissions in the public school in future. There is no mention of the survey from which this fact was taken. There is a possibility that the survey was not perform by a government body and the method might also be different, furthermore there is a possibility that only a small part of city was surveyed. Unless, a proper survey, and data is mention which has followed a legit method it would be illogical to decrease funds from education sector.

In addition, the committee has mention about the reduce birthrate. There are many reasons for reduction in birthrate. Firstly, due to economy the parents wants to delay the childbirth and avoid the cost of new born, secondly it could happen that the parents wants to settle first before having a child, thirdly the data talks about the last year birthrate and not about the current year.

Thirdly, the committee also talks about reducing the cost provided to athletic playing fields and recreational facilities. If that is done then the fields would be barren and it could also be a place where garbage would start accumulating, Slowly turning the open space into garbage landfill. If the atheletic fields are removed then the young children would be forced to sit at home and play virtual games. Not playing outsides and not having different recreational facilities, the young adult would become bore and would be forced to sit at home, and this causes different health problems like, obesity, increase in blood pressure and stress, and much more. By not providing funds to aforementioned things would be dangerous for society.

Furthermore, the committee states that they should provide more funds towards program which facilitates the adults, as they would be the majority. This might look beneficial for the immediate years but in long run it would be disadvantageous. It could happen that when these young adult have children at that time, looking at the education facilities and the sports and recretional facilities, they would not be happy. They would soon relocate to cities which have better education and activities which would help their child grow in much better place. So, the amount which the committee is planning to spend would be lost.

In conclusion, the ten-year budget planning committee should look at a longer picture rather then the immediate benefits. They should consider all the aforementioned points and suggestion before coming to the final decision. First they should check the data which is presented in front of them, and do a proper cost analyses before making any changes.