The well-being of a society is enchanced when many of its people question authority.

The role of the government is to serve people. The statement states that the society will enhanced when people will question authority. There are many reasons to determine that would a society advance or not. I do believe that questioning the authority would surely be beneficial. A few key factors to validate my point are:

Countries are made up of people and each should aim to work for betterment of its citizen. For this to happen, firstly the citizen should have the right to question and ask explanation from the authority or government about the policies formed. This is because, it is the citizen who will be finally affected by the policy. For instance, the people could question government on delay of project completion and expect a satisfying answer from them. This would create transparency and increase the confidence of people in the authority.

Furthermore, for any country to progress the people should play an important role. People should have freedom of speech and freedom to ask question. This is essential otherwise; the authorities would have too much power and they would become dictatorial and corrupt. For instance, in country like India, Right to Freedom to speech and Right to information are one of the most important rights of the people given by the constitution. Hence Indian people and openly question government on the policies they make through various platforms like newspaper, letter, or even on twitter. This makes sures that the government could not do whatever they feel right.

If society is not allowed to question the authorities, it might happen that the authority may make policies which do not work in favour of the people. Then the authorities would turn into dictators and only work for their benefit. Not denying the fact, that people should have right to ask questions relating any topic some topics are not included for the safety of the nation. For instance, questions relating to armed forces and their covert operation shall not be discuss by the authorities or questioned by the people as, if this information fall into wrong hands then it would jeopardised people.

In conclusion, society should have right to ask questions to the authority as this would keep a check on working of the government. Just believing the government propaganda and not question it, would be harmful for society. For advancement of the society it is essential to be alert as a citizen which would in turn create an holistic government.