College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

In today's fast-paced world, where talent is highly valued, one should pursue career in which one has mastery. Some might argue that learning what the industry requires or the subjects which would led to a job would be beneficial, but I disagree with them. The validation of my view would be explain in the following essay.

Education is birthright of all human beings irrespective, of their gender, race, and culture. Educators or educational instituities are mere facilitators which imparts knowledge. At first it seems benefical and right-way to get a job would be to only study the subjects which are required for that position and ignoring the rest. However, this would be a wrong approach as the person would be limited to one type of role and progress would not happen. For instance, if a person has a short-term goal to achieve a job as supply chain analyst, so for that the candidated only studied the subjects like logistics, excel, SQL, etc. But, this would surely help the candidate to attain the job but he would be stuck in this position if he has knowledge of only these subjects. To excel in his carrer he should learn and upgrade his knowledge and learn new things.

In the past few decades technology has grown rapidly, expontentially and has been limitless. It was in the year 1950 when for the first time Alan Turing asked the question 'Can machines think?' this led to a new field of innovation; the field of Artificial Intelligence or AI. AI is used to automate work and complete the task with more optimisation. So, in few years many jobs would be taken over by AI and humans would be unemployed. This is currently happening in the infomation technology jobs; IT jobs. IT jobs was considered one of the best career options in the last decade, but due to increasement in technologies and AI, the jobs are getting replaced by machines. So, the people who might have just learn subjects about IT in the college would suffer as they might have lost their jobs.

However, colleges should not only focus on imparting theoretical knowledge. They should also provide subjects which has practical use in the industries, as this would help students to attain a job. College should constantly update their curriculums and add subjects which are required in the market. This would help the students to attain the latest current trends which are going on in industries.

In conclusion, I would like to say that though the final aim of attaining an education is to obtain a job but only studying the subjects which are required for it would be harmful. Studying a particular set of subjects would create a tunnel vision and restrict the creativity of the students and ability to think out of the box solutions. Any knowledge which we learn would be beneficial for us in someway or other. So, we should not restrict ourself by just studying a few subjects to attain a job. We should think of a larger picture rather than immediate benefits.