Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Coporate Social Responsibility (CSR) has been a matter of debate for a long period of time. Where some argue that corporations are responsible to give back to society and environments, while other believe that the coporations are not liable to give back to society as they work within the government laws. I believe that the coporations should be responsible for the well-being of societies and environments while seeing to it that the profits are not affected. Explaination of my view would be given in the following essay.

Coporate Social Responsibility have numerous benefits like, it helps to increase the good will of the company, helps to reduce the amount paid in taxes, increase customers, increase trust about the company among its customers, and much more. For instance, if the coporation open schools or colleges where they train youth with different skills which will help them to achieve a job, by providing various trainings and courses, then this helps in increasing the skilled labor of the county. In the longer run the coporate would only benefit as they get greater number of skilled labor in their workforce. This is done by different cooperations in India, like Asian Paints, Daikin Air condition. where both coporations have their private institution where they train young people and make them industry ready.

Coporates also has responsibilties for the protection and well-being of the environments. Coporates by shifting to renewable sources of energy and using green supply-chain can help in reducing polution and green houses gases. For instance, the coporation started using electrical vehicle for transportation within their plant instead of a petrol or diseal vehicle, this would not only reduce the carbon dioxide level in the atmosphere, but also reduce the cost of operating the vehicles. Electrial vehicles are much cheaper to used compare to petrol or diseal vehicles. Company can shift to used jute bags for packing instead of paper bags. This was done by Darelling Tea. This moved not only saved lots of trees from being cut, it also saved the dying jute industry. By promoting well-being of environments coportaion gains more trust from the customers and this increases the local customers base for the company.

However, coporates should find innovate ways in which they are able to provide to the society as well as the environment while maintaining their profits. It should not be such a case that the coporates while doing good for the society they enter losses, as this would affect the business. Coporates should follow ethical ways for doing the business, as this would reduce the backlass or restrictions from the government and environment protecting bodies.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the coporates should have some social responsibility. While in start the coporate may loose some profit but in the longer run it would be beneficial for the company. Coporates should think about a larger picture compare to immediate benefits.