The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Asking questions to those in authority is crucial for the growth of the organisation. I mostly agree with the prompt that it is indispensable for the people to question the respected authorities. Following are the two reasons and a concession to substantiate this thesis.

It is of paramount importance for the citizens of a country to question the government, in all aspects like economy, secularity and international relations, to preclude it from becoming authoritarian, and keeping a check on the nation's progress. For instance, media is called a crucial pillar of democracy, and this representation is true because the main purpose of the media houses is to convey the information regarding a nation's progress to it's people. If a nation is declining or it's government is failing to accomplish the promises, made during the elections, it the duty of media to inform the citizens about it. This information is so power that it can lead to the collapse of the government, and as people would be instigated to cause a rebellion. Moreover, Right to Information act in India, allows any. citizen to question the government regarding any issue, any deal, or any amendments made, consequently leading to a total transparency regarding the functioning of the government. Due this the government would be more cautious, and the corruption will decline. Therefore, the above examples illustrates that providing people or an organisation with power to question the authority will hinder the people in power to go off track and become autocratic.

Moreover, when the population starts questioning the authorities, they give up their oblivious nature towards the system and thus, become more aware about the changes of the amendments occurring in the organisation. For example, if more people start questioning the government on each and every issues, they will be more aware of the issue, and there would be an environment to consciousness among the nation. As we know that, having information and knowledge is power, thereby augmenting the power of it's citizens. Like, the people would more aware of their fundamental rights, and can protest if those are breached. Moreover, when more people are interested in the politics, the voter turn out also increases, as they would have their opinions to be represented. Thus, the above example shows that when people start question the authorities, they become in curious about the organisation and system, which would in turn have a positive impact holistically.

However, in some specific cases and situations, questioning authorities can be detrimental towards the well-being of the society. In particular, when people excessively start question the government regarding petty issues, then most of the time is wasted in resolving them, which in turn inhibits the core issues and problems to be solved. But, I believe that excess of everything is harmful, thereby we should not eschew the fact that providing people with strength of asking questions will lead to progress in most of the cases.

Conclusively, questioning the authority is subjective, and some people think can cause more conflicts rather than resolutions. However, I think that when number of people questioning the authorities increase, it will be beneficent for the nation.