Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The predicament of today's world is producing graduates which lack profound knowledge about the subject. The major reason behind this is the outmoded culture of assessing students based on their grasping of the concepts and having less knowledge about implementation. The prompt states that educators should pay more attention on a student's ability to explain, analyse and implement concepts rather than just cramming them. I mostly agree with the prompt that the educators should be focussing on the student's holistic understanding rather than just judging their art of cramming.

Firstly, when a educational system's paramount motive is to just feed the information, which might be relevant or irrelevant to a student's interest, to the students and evaluating them based on mere grasping of facts would train to be "mechanical robots", with information entered in their database, less analytical ability to actually infer something from that it. It is indispensable for students to develop critical thinking which would help in solving real life problems. However, if a the educators only assess the students on their abilities to withhold the info, rather than their profoundness of deducing and extrapolating, would create a workforce deprived of innovation and analytical thinking. For instance, the trailblazers like Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg dropped out to solve the real world problems through their innovations in the software domain, instead of clearing the Harvard examinations. Thus, this substantiates that exposition that it is pivotal for a student to inculcate skillset of explaining the facts rather than just grasping them.

Secondly, if a student is able to elaborate upon the fact which she learnt in classroom, this would result in the increased involvement and interest in that specific field. Therefore, she would able to recognise her interests and ruminate over the career options in that domain. Moreover, it will also reduce the number of students undertaking career change after spending thousands of dollars on education on the field which they have no inclination. For instance, if a student works on analysing the concepts, which she was taught in the classroom, rather than just cramming them for scoring well in the exams, she would be much more involved with the subject. This would in turn help her in realising if she is actually interested in the subject , and wants purse her career in that specific field. Consequently, evaluating students based on repertoire of explaining, deducing and inferring from the concepts will help them be more informed about career options which they can undertake in future.

Lastly, some people might argue that it would be tedious to evaluate a large numbers students on their abilities to go deep into the subject, and it remedy for this would be to conduct examinations which tests their knowledge about the facts. However, this would in turn produce graduates bereft of analytical ability.

Therefore, the education system should come up practices to assess students on their ability to explain and analyse the concepts taught to them. This may involve hiring greater workforce of teachers, or introducing interactive teaching and evaluating methods. Thus, this would help yielding graduates with detailed knowledge and more informed about the career options to pursue in future.