Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Assessing students is the key to recognize how much they have learned. In fact, there is a vast number of ways of assessing students’ mastery of information and skills. In order to teach those skills an educator should wait and see how the facts, ideas and concepts get explained and acquired by students. In my opinion, I agree with the suggestion and argue that learning goes beyond facts for two reasons.

Firstly, ideas, trends and concepts go along with facts just like knowledge goes with practice. For instance, students know that after rain comes out the rainbow, or in the winter days get shorter but they need to be able to explain how these happen. Teachers introduce information, explain it and give a chance to students for a ‘hands on’ learning. This process lasts and goes on with assessing in different ways just like the information was given. Asking about facts is like giving a multiple choice test which is not enough to test skills. Projects, performances debates or competitions are higher levels of expressing knowledge.

Secondly, an educator might find a coincidence with the students who are the first graspers and the same ones that shine in every assessment. This might be true, but one should always reach out and find enough ways to assess and fill the gaps of students’ learning by teaching and considering each one of them. A good teacher is mindful every moment about each student and has high expectations. For example, my teacher called on those who did not raise their hands, but recognized as well the ones that always had an answer. She was fair and praised the last product given by her students.

In conclusion, teaching is not only facts but ideas, trends and concepts. In a few words, teaching is very broad and this is the teacher’s job to assess and help students when they put everything together. Some may think that knowing facts is more important than other factors of learning, but this is wrong. Everyone needs to know facts and be able to explain them and a good educator recognizes all kinds of learners and reaches out to them. Teaching involves no impressions but proof.