Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the present day, we live in a democratic society, where every one has equal rights to express their feeling and ideas. Education is one of the imperative factors for a society, to improve. The main purpose of a teacher is to prepare their student for the future world, thus a teacher has to be stringent about their assessment of student’s performance. The above prompt sets about that educators should focus on the students’ ability to explain the ideas and concepts, instead of the students’ grasp of facts. While, I concede the fact that a student’s grasp of fact is an indispensable factor, in my opinion, I mostly agree with the above prompt for three reasons.

To begin, to improve in life people need to express their ideas to other people, otherwise, if other people do not comprehend an idea then, it is not viable to determine the efficacy of the idea, no matter how much the idea is fruitful. A teacher should focus on a student’s explaining ability, otherwise, it will be difficult for a student to progress in the future. For example, if a student is erudite in mathematics and has a decent gasp of knowledge of the subject, but is not comfortable expressing his ideas and concepts. In that case, it will be very difficult to prosper in life, since no matter how innovative the idea is, one should be able to express the concepts of the idea, otherwise, the people will not understand the idea and it will be very difficult to assess the student, whether he knows or not. The above example illustrates that teachers need to be more careful about assessing the student. To be effective in an idea, one should be able to express his innovative ideas in front of other people, in other words, a detailed gasp of knowledge is useless if, it can not be expressed clearly.

Furthermore, there are some cases that without expressing properly one’s ability can not be assessed. The student should be able to explain any idea if he has a fair grasp of knowledge. In other words, if, a student can understand any topic he should be able to express the concepts and ideas relating to the topic more carefully. For example, if a student is good at playing piano, she should be able to express her ability through playing the piano. Without expressing the ability one cannot judge her ability. This example shows that expressing quality is necessary in most cases for prosperity. If one can not express her feeling properly, her skill may be wasted and her talent will be lost in the future. Thus the teacher should emphasize and focus on the students’ ability to express their concepts, ideas, and tends. Thus one can say if he was able to understand a topic more clearly, he/she should be able to express his concepts more coherently.

However, sometimes a student has gasp knowledge but lacks the ability to express, on the other side a student may not have the proper gasp and concepts of the subject but he is deft in order to express concepts. In that case, assessing a student only on the basis of expressing ability is not a good idea. For example, most of the schools in India follow the same curriculum, and they assess their students through final examinations, whose most of the questions are from the same books that they provide in the curriculum and the answers are given in the books. In that case, one can not assess a student’s grasp of knowledge based on the ability to express it. Maybe a student is know all the answers but does not have good writing skills and another student, does not have a grasp of concepts but he can write the answers more clearly, then one cannot assess a student’s performance. Thus focusing only able to expression may not be much of a good idea.

Despite these reasons giving importance to a grasp of students’ concepts does have its merit such as a student will be more focused on grasping concepts rather than only scoring but such advantages are overshadowed by the potential disadvantages which are more severe in nature. So educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.