The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memorandum, the author assumed that to be more lucrative they should decrease operating expenses by closing at 6.00 P.M. instead of 9.00 P.M. and stop broadcasting movies more than 5 years ago. The author’s assumption is based upon the premise that their store in downtown was aggrandized their profit by closing 3 hours earlier and eliminating all the movies, released more than 5 years ago. However, before the author’s assumption is fully evaluated three questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author assumed that they should not raise their rental prices to improve profitability without any reliable evidence. Maybe people do not want that. There is a possibility that nearly owners of the similar business are already raised their prices and they are not facing any predicament from the people. As their prices are being raised the people may be willing to pay high rental prices. So increasing rental price may be a good idea. Perhaps movie-going people’s aptitude for the other things. Perhaps they want to reduce waiting time before the movie or they may want to have a parking allotment. If anyone of the above scenarios is true then the author’s assumption is seriously unwarranted.

Secondly, the author assumes that since last month their store downtown Marston significantly increased profitability by reducing operating expenses, and they should follow a similar strategy for other places. In other words, the author uses circumstances from one place to generalization or prediction about the others without any justifiable evidence. Maybe other places are completely different than downtown Marston. Perhaps most of the people in downtown Marston are young people or elderly people, on the other hand, most people in the other town are office-going people and they usually get out of their office after 6.00 P.M. therefore, closing theatre at 6.00 PM will not be much of a lucrative idea. There is a possibility that people in the other town may prefer older movies. Maybe most of the people in downtown Marston are young people and they prefer to watch newly released movies, on the other hand in the other town most people are retired people and they have a penchant for older movies. If anyone of the above scenarios is true then the author’s assumption is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author assumed that by shorten operating expenses and reducing stock will improve the profitability without any proper evidence. Maybe doing so will jeopardize their reputation. Maybe people want to see movies with lower prices. There is a possibility that most of their customers belong to middle-class families, then raising fares may not be that much help. People may not comply with that idea. If this scenario is true then the author’s assumption is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed assumption that they will be profitable if they reduce operating expenses and broadcast recent movies without blemishing the reputation.