The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above letter, the author suggests that city should prohibit skateboarding in the central plaza to burgeon the business of the plazas. The author supports his argument on the basis of the premise that the increasing popularity of skateboarders causes a decrease in the number of shoppers at the plazas. However, before the author’s recommendation is evaluated three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is skateboarding the only cause for the decreasing popularity of the shoppers at the plazas? In other words, is it accurate to blame a single aspect to justify some problems? The increasing popularity of skateboarding may not be the single foremost factor for the subsiding of the businesses in plazas. Maybe the food quality of the plazas is worsened over time. There is a possibility that after introducing a new kind of food people may not have the propensity for the food at the central plazas. Even if it is not the case, skateboarding may not be the only cause for their decrease in business. Maybe people who skateboard there, are also the customers of the plazas. Then, the increasing population of skateboarders can not be imputed to the decreasing number of customers. If, any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s recommendation holds no water.

Secondly, is skateboarding the only aspect of indicting the dramatic increase in littering? Maybe skateboarding is not the only reason for the proliferation of littering throughout the plazas. For the increasing vandalism, there is a possibility of the city’s poor infrastructure or the listlessness of the workers at the plazas are to be blamed. There is a possibility that people who take their food into their cars, leave the leftovers in the parking lot. If, the above scenario is true then the author’s prediction is seriously unwarranted.

Thirdly, will prohibit skateboarding help to rejuvenate the plaza’s population? Maybe there are other factors that should be analyzed before making decisions about forestalling skateboarding in the plazas. Maybe the food prices are exorbitant in those plazas relative to the other food counters in the city. Perhaps people don’t want to consume the type of foods that the plazas make. In those cases, probably introducing a new r food may help regain their customers. If, the above scenario is true, then, the author's recommendation is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that restricting skateboarding will help to regain their customers.