The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviours."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the above prompt, the author argues that engaging in bad behavior is depended on having a number of dinner of meals. The author supports his argument on the basis of the survey report of 5000 adolescents, that, a high number of family meals keep teens from engaging in bad influences, like illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Furthermore, the author also added that having a high number of dinners with family also helps teenagers to get higher grades, better self-esteem, etc. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author draws his conclusion on the basis of the survey report of more than 5000 adolescents but fails to provide the authenticity of the survey. A reader can raise several questions about how long ago the survey was conducted or was the sample enough. Making generalizations about something based upon only 5000 people maybe somehow factitious. Perhaps most of the people, who participated in the survey, live far from their families but they do not have any penchant for illegal substances. If the author provides more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then, the conclusion based on the survey may seem veritable to the reader, otherwise, if the above situation is true, then, the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, the author concludes about the effectiveness of having dinner with family on better performance, and mental health without any coax evidence. The author concludes that having dinner with family is the only factor in better performance or better mental health. There is a possibility that someone, who lives in boarding houses, has better mental health or better grades. Having dinner with family and better mental health may not have any relation between them. Perhaps, one who eats dinner regularly with his family may have severe depression or lower self-esteem. Maybe lower self-esteem is completely dependent on the environment around one individual. There has no guarantee, that every home has a healthy environment. If, the author offers some evidence-based research study or statistical analysis on some survey then, the author’s conclusion may have sounded warranted. Otherwise, if any one of the above scenarios is true, then, the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author uses a percentage for supports his argument, without providing an absolute number. A percentage is a tricky situation, without an absolute number given, one can not conclude anything. Let 30 percent of 100 teens say that having dinner with family help to maintain better mental health, then, offering a conclusion based upon only 30 people’s report is somehow counterfeit. There is a feasibility that, maybe most of the teens can’t afford to have dinner with their family, due to some unavoidable reasons, like they have to do part-time jobs after their school to support their families. If the author provides some persuasive evidence is statistical data charts or some research-based evidence, then the author’s argument may not be unsounded, otherwise, if any one of the above situations is true, then the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument as it stands is considerably unwarranted due to reliance on some unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer some evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors.