The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the Website Science News, the author concludes that taking great family meals prevents youths from engaging in bad behaviors. While the author’s conclusion might hold water, however, as it stands now, there are three alternative explanations that should be considered.

First of all, one possibility that might hinder the persuasiveness of the argument, is that the number of teens that participated in the survey is too small compare to the total population of teens in the area the survey was done. Perhaps teens from one section of the city were chosen, neglecting the opinions of the others from other sections, which might be very different. Additionally, it could be possible that those teens involved in the survey were given some incentives to give false reports, maybe to encourage other children to eat with their families. If any of the above cases really happened, then the author’s argument is weakened.

Furthermore, another explanation to the reason that young children that eat with their family are unlikely to use drugs or drink alcohol is that the children live a healthy lifestyle. It could be possible those children normally take care of their body by exercising well and choose not to take alcohols or drugs that are harmful to their health. Also, it could be possible that those children have friends or mentors, that advised them not to take drugs or tobacco. If any of the aforementioned scenarios occurred, then the author’s assertion that by just eating with parents prevents the from taking hard drugs is not compelling.

Finally, an explanation that will decrease the credibility of the argument is that eating with parents does not actually augment teens grades or confidence. It could be possible that those children attend prestigious high schools in the city with good teachers, which made learning easier for them. It won’t be a surprise if such students do well in school, because they are well-taught. In addition to that, maybe those teenagers are naturally intelligent and always do well in school or the children have good learning materials that improves their chances of getting excellent grades in colleges. If that proves to be the case, then the author’s contention that eating food with parents boost teens chances of getting good results in school is clearly hampered.

To conclude, although the claim that the reason some teenagers are well-behave is that they eat with their parents might be valid, the author needs to consider the above alternative explanation in order to boost the credibility of his argument. The author should provide evidence that the number of teens that performed in the survey are actually considerable. He should also provide evidence that just eating with parents made the youths to be of good behavior.