The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore, an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter, the author concludes that by participating in the compulsory driving course in high school, the road accidents involving the youths will surely decline. The author comes to this conclusion based on several premises cited in the passage. While the argument might prove true, however, the author’s contention relies on three unjustified assumptions that might hinder its credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the teenage accidents that occurred in the last two years was not an anomaly, and that it will continue like that, but this might not be true. Perhaps the city of Centerville experienced an enormous amount of rainfall or bad weather conditions, that could have damaged the road and caused more accidents. It is also possible that during the two years, the number of car owners in the City of Centerville augmented, which increased the number of road users. When this happen, the roads in Centerville might be very concentrated, and more accidents are likely to occur. If any of these scenarios occurred, then the author’s argument is seriously weakened.

Furthermore, the author presumes that a “number” of parents in Centerville is significant. Nevertheless, this might not be true. It could be possible that only 10 parents out of a thousand (which is about 1 % of the total parent’s population) really complained that they are busy, and unlikely to teach their children how to drive. Even though they are up to 50% of the population, it may be possible that the majority of them are not permanent residents of Centerville, and that they left after completing what they came to Centerville to do. If any of the aforementioned cases prove true, then the author’s contention is seriously jeopardized. If the author wants to increase the persuasiveness of his argument, then the needs to quantify the number of parents that are permanent residents of Centerville that said that their unwillingness to teach their children how to drive was as a result of their busy schedules.

Finally, the author assumes that just because the high school in Centerville is going to cover the costs of the compulsory driving course, students are actually going to take the course serious. However, this might not be true. It is possible that students will attend the training without paying attention to what is being taught. They might show little interest by coming late to class, and when they come, they just gist and play with their friends. In addition to that, some students might actually participate actively in the class and are willing to learn, but they don’t have the resources to practice when they want to. For instance, maybe those students are poor and don’t have a car to practice with. If any of the above cases is true, then the author’s assertion that the high school driving program will be very effective in reducing teenage accidents is seriously hampered.

In conclusion, the author’s conclusion that the mandatory youth driving course will provide tremendous benefits to the city of Centerville might be true, however, the author’s claim relies on three unwarranted assumptions that reduces the credibility of the argument. To increase the validity of his argument, the author needs to provide the real number of parents living in Centerville, provide evidences showing the past and present conditions of the roads in Centerville, and evidence that the high school students have the right equipment to practice with.