University should require every student to take a variety of courses outside students field of study

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take in developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A recent scientific study carried out on September 2020 in the University of Ghana Accra, showed that students who take courses outside his field of study tends to perform better academically and more skillful than students who do not. Although one might argue that students should not be mandated to take course outside his field of study, while others might argue that it should be made necessary. I believe that additional of courses outside ones field of study provides abundant advantage that cannot be neglected and therefore is should be included in ones academic program.

Taking a course outside the field of study of a student gives the students a good knowledge of the course which can be benefiting to the students,improves the skills and intellectual capacity of the student. Take for example a student from department of theatre art who decided to take a practical engineering course on motor-vehicle repair and maintenance. Apart from the basic engineering skills acquired from the course, it also the much needed knowledge and skills required by the student to carry out vehicle maintenance at home and be able to repair his car when it develop fault, thereby eliminating the need for a mechanic. Similar benefit can be seen in the case of a law student who decided to take a first aid practice course. With the basic knowledge gained from the course the student will be able to take care of small injuries, bruises at home while applying the learnt skills.

Furthermore, taking a course outside the students field of study will help the students to network with other students in the other field. As it can be seen in the world today , one of the efficient way of securing a job after school is through networking. It might be a someone met during the course lecture or training that will give the student job after school or will recommend him for a particular position in the industry. It is not a must that the student is going to end up practicing his what he studied. The future is uncertain, it could be the knowledge gained from the outside field that will be his source of income tomorrow. Therefore, it is of great benefit to take a course outside ones field of study to widen the scope of the students in the job market and network with other students which will increase his chances of securing a job after school.

In conclusion, it is clear that taking courses outside ones field of study provide a tremendous advantage over students who do not. The practical examples portrayed in the above paragraphs provide some advantage gained from the course outside field of study. Therefore, it is necessary for universities to require students to take courses outside their field of study.