Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that the consumption of dairy products actually increases the chances of people getting osteoporosis. He comes to this conclusion based on the long-term study carried out on a large-number of people. While the author’s assertion might prove true, however, the author needs to provide three additional evidence to increase the persuasiveness of his argument.

First of all, the writer should provide evidence that the long-term study on the causes of osteoporosis was done in an empirical way. Perhaps the study was done superficially, and many fundamental factors that was supposed to be considered, was not put into consideration. It is also possible that the study made use of small sample size, which might not necessarily produce an accurate result. If the any of the above scenario occurred, then, the author’s contention that taking dairy products causes osteoporosis is seriously weakened.

Moreover, the author needs to show that a “large-number” of people used in the study really contain a considerable number of people living in the particular locality in which the research was conducted. A “large-number” of people can be about 50 or 100 people, which could be very little depending on the population of the community. If the study was done with 100 people in an area with a total population of 250, then the number of people involved in the study is significant; but if the study was conducted with only 100 people out of 10,000, then, the number of people involved in the research is minute. Also, even if great number of people was used to start experiment, it may be possible that same number didn’t complete it, leading to a lesser sample size. If any of the aforementioned cases occurred, then the author’s contention is not that compelling.

Finally, the author needs to support his argument by providing evidence that consumption of milk and dairy products is the major factor that contributed to bone fracture, which is a symptom of osteoporosis. It may be true that the people involved in the study, took something else apart from milk that caused osteoporosis during the course of the study, or performed some activities like playing football which caused bone fracture. Furthermore, it is highly possible that the people that participated in the study already had osteoporosis before the study, which could make the result of the experiment to change. If the author fails to provide evidence to corroborate his claim, then his argument is hampered.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in asserting that the major cause of osteoporosis is through the consumption of milk and daily product. However, as it stands now, the author needs to produce three more evidence to bolster the validity of his argument.