Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential

for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in

dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both

environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken

significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that

those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study

have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since

bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet

rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of

osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article states that the milk and diary products when consumed in daily basis can increase the rate of bone fracture. However, three questions must be answered before the argument can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, Who are these large number of people? Are the large number of people pundits who know everything about the significance of the dairy products. They article should mention about these people who are doing this study. The article should provide the information like their occupation or their experience which would have strengthen the evidence.

Secondly, When was this long term study done? There has been no time stamp provided for the data. The study should can be very old or it might very recent which is not provided. The article should provide the details that when was the study done. There will be a lot of changes in the cows and buffalos of old time as the care and food that is fed to them and many such details can vary the observation. Such information would strengthen the evidence.

Lastly, What is the cause of the fracture? The cause of the facture is not provided. The fracture can happen by an accident or many such reasons. The article should provide the information about the people who are victim of osteoporosis and they should also provide the count of it to strengthen the evidence.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance of unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic way), then it will be possible to fully evaluate a thorough study must be done and with all the precautionary measures provided.