The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health

Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other

health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas

where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should

therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such

residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise

equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years

ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training

and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of

customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program

called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early

age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum states that the the vice president of Health wants to expand his chain of store in Plainville. The merchants reports which states that Painesville is a health conscious city. However the process by which the author reached in the conclusion has logical inconsistency and unjustified assumptions. Primarily, three questions must be answered before the argument can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, what is the number of the reports the merchants reported? The assumption that the reports of the merchants are can't be true as the reports doesn't tell about the number of the people and sales of running shoes or equipment won't be related to health. For instance, people buy fancy shoes and keep them for long time and don't wear them. The merchants must have bought some new designs which might have increased the sale. We might need a solid proof stating that people are buying shoes for health purpose. If that might be the case, it can be justified that reports from the merchants are true.

Secondly? Are all the cities same like other? The assumption of from previous experience that the Painesville is a high concerned with healthy lives might not be completely correct. The people might have been recently been active in summer but then winter the city might be cold everyone would change their action. Also, to make profit the people of Painesville people must invest money. If that might be the case, it can be justified by the survey by the people of the Painesville about their needs and how are the people.

Lastly, Will the children participate the program with interest? The assumption that the Painesville's children to participate in Fitness for Life will work might not be true. The children might be interested in fitness but not everyone. We can't force the decision. If that might be the case, It can be justified by taking survey on the children to strengthen the argument.

In nutshell, the vice president reached a conclusion by looking at merchants reports, comparing other cities with Plainville, and anticipating that the children might join the program. A solid proof of that assumption is lacking in the claim. More reasoning and linking of cause and effects logically could help the author making a reasonable assumption.