The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memorandum concludes that they should build one of their new stores in Plainsville, assuming they will have big sales. The opponents have come to this conclusion based on the fact that residents in this area have healthy habits on how they live their lives. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated two unstated assumptions must be analyzed.

Fist of all, even if the writer of the memorandum is correct in assuming that residents of Plainville lead healthy lives and they might buy healthy foods, the argument does not say if they need new healthy food stores. It is possible that have many of them since they have been leading healthy lives several years ago and they buy from them. Further, if Health Naturally is new and expanding, the claim for success when opening a store in Plainsville is not guaranteed.

Secondly, according to the argument a new Health Natyrally store will be successful because merchants are selling more running shoes and exercise equipment. However this might not be the case. Perhaps, people from other cities or online are buying sports equipment, and they might do food shopping somewhere else. Maybe they will shop for sports shoes and food at the same place, but the frequency of shopping sports equipment is not the same with food shopping. One customer might come in the area to buy sports shoes once a month but that is not guaranty that is coming just for food shopping more frequently at Health Naturally.

Last, the author assumes that the store will succeed because schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."This is not necessarily true as students are required to participate in the program and exercise but that does not mean they have to eat a certain diet which products will be bought from HN. Their parents might shop wherever they used to and take a long time to give a try HN products.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considered flawed because it relies on unwarranted assumptions. If the author had alternate options from the ones above it would be possible to evaluate the opening of a Health Naturally shop in Plainsville.