Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

© To

An old quote says that people deserve what government they choose. In fact, there are many components to judge a nation from. The prompt recommends that a nation is great if it has many achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientist, but the others claim that the general welfare of its people is what shows much about it. In my opinion, a stand for the good and wellbeing of people as a main indicator of the greatness of a nation, and argue that art, science and ruling are not as important as the first ones for several reasons.

Firstly, members of a nation are the most important subjects of a government. Thus their wellbeing is basic and is shown and measured in many ways. For example, statistics, surveys show that Finland is a great nation and people there are very happy. Consequently, the first idea that comes in mind is the way they live and the quality life they live. It is very impressive how people spend their free time, how healthy and happy they are and the right they have toward the job they do. However, the credit for this welfare might be dedicated to some rulers, artists or scientists but this is not the point. They might play a role or be a component among many others that bring the prosperity of a nation.

Secondly, even if we assume that a nation needs some great people to call it a great nation, one should still be seeing the wellbeing, because this brings happiness in peoples’ lives. For example, a person that has a good health and income tends to live a happy life. Research has shown that happy people reflect it and affect other people’s mood and happiness. In other words happiness is “contagious”. Thus, one should look how economy and technology has changed our life due to humongous inventions. The perfect point is when we see these good things used by people for their own good.

Of course some argue that in our world greatness of a nation can be viewed by evaluating how wealthy people are, and the others think that great people bring the greatness of a nation. However, being wealthy is decisive for people to live a normal and happy life.