The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20 0ncrease in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo ,it is asked to the city council to build a golf course and a resort hotel in Brindelburg, in order to generate additional tax revenue that can be used to fund public improvements. The opponent has come to this conclusion, based on improvements in town of Seaside Vista and that as well can happen in Brindelburg. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are the two towns comparable based on locations and landforms? Does Seaside Vista mean the town is close to the seaside and tourism has many chances to flourish? Does Brindleburg belong to another kind of location and offers not as much as Seaside Vista? Perhaps, there are many chances for Seaside Vista to have many tourists based on the location. Maybe the municipal golf course and resort hotel were a big effect on the visitor increase. The additional actions increased the taxes collected which might have been used for public improvements. On the other hand, we do not have enough information what Brindleburg offers to develop tourism and attract people. If that is the case, the claim of building the resort and the golf course could be called into question. Further, without actions taken we do not know if the numbers of visitors will grow and the public improvements would be possible.

Secondly, is there an explanation how building a resort and a golf course increases tax revenues? The opponents in the argument predict prematurely that after these two actions taken earnings from taxes will ncrease, this might not be the case. Perhaps, people of Brindleburg are not golf lovers and they will not come to the resort and moreover to play golf. Maybe they like hiking instead and prefer to come back home at night. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

In addition, does applying for loans mean successful businesses? The author of the argument says that Seaside Vista banks reported an increase in bank loans which is not happening in Brindleburg. Perhaps investors do not see a cause to get loans and invest in Brindleburg. Maybe, they choose to work and not sacrifice on bank loans. If this is true, no new businesses would open .

In conclusion,the argument is relying on several unwarranted assumptions, so it is flawed.If the author is able to argument the three questions above, and offer more evidence then it would be possible to take actions and see the profits just like in Seaside Vista.