The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20 0ncrease in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council it is stated that they recommend building a golf course and a resort hotel in order to generate additional tax revenue and use them for public improvement. They have come to this conclusion based on findings from Seaside Vista Tourism board, local banks’ reports, and tax money increase that was used for roads and bridges. However, before these recommendations can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, are the areas of the two cities comparable regarding having a golf course and a resort hotel? In other words, do the circumstances support the same things to be built in the city of Brindelburg? Perhaps, the city of Brindleburg does not have an appropriate area to build the golf course or the resort hotel. Further, people of this city may not like the sport of golf and this may hold the number of additional tourists to visit the resort. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is considerably weakened.

Secondly, does applying for a loan in a bank mean they all get approved? If these money may move between businesses and the bank, this does not affect the city’s economy. For instance, many businesses might apply for a loan and get themselves into a debt. There is no guaranty that their income will augment and this would affect the city.

Next, does a report of 20 % increase in visitors mean that the same number will visit the city of Brindleburg? Does 20% show a concrete number? Perhaps 20 visitors or two came the previous years and a few more came this year. If there was accurate information then it would be better to jump on assumptions. An ideal number of visitors in Seaside Vista does not guaranty the same increase in the number of visitors in Brindleburg.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now may easily be considered flawed due to its reliance on several unsupported assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence in the form of exact information, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the chances and profits of building of a golf course and a resort hotel in Brindleburg.