The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

In the memo from the student housing at Buckingham College, it is stated that more students will enroll in this college. The claimers have come to this conclusion based on current trends, the increasing of the off campus renting prices and the attractive dormitories they have intention to build. However that conclusion is based on a number of inadequately unsupported assumptions. Without further information about the growth in enrollment, having enough dormitory space and being able or not to afford the rent off campus, we do not have sufficient evidence to determine that the author’s conclusion is valid.

Firstly, the director is claiming that there is an increase of students enrolling in this college. In other words, he thinks that in the next 50 years the number of students will double. Perhaps, the growth is very small and in the next decades it will grow smaller. Maybe students will choose another college much closer to their houses. Further, there is a possibility that other colleges might be built in 50 years. If either of these scenarios has merit the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Next, the author claims that they might need to build extra dormitories. There is no information if the college has intention to do this soon or will need to do this. Perhaps the current ones are going to be enough for years coming. Perhaps they will never build them.

Thirdly, there is a claim that since renting off campus is becoming expensive the students will ask to stay in campus. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, the prices in campus will be higher than the ones off campus. In an ideal world, many people may love to be on campus while studying, but the reality of prices is usually the one that chooses. If the above is true, the argument is not valid.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed because is relying on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to argument the three claims above and offer more evidence then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the statement that there will be more enrollments in the future in Buckingham College.