Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When we turn our head and compare how classroom looked decades ago with the classroom students go now, it is a great difference. In fact, the mission is for students to learn and this does not seem to have changed. The prompt recommends that even though methods of schools to instruct students are improved, too much technology is more distracting to real learning. In my opinion I disagree with this concern and argue that technology helps for two reasons.

First of all, technology has made everything easy because it saves time and is so effective in quickly distributing instructions. For instance, teachers have stopped giving notes and writing on boards because now they have the smart technology display and share information with everyone and wherever the students are. Consequently, students do not have to always be in class with books, carrying them around and above all taking notes which used to take most of their time. However, books are still basic, technology enhances learning by offering loads or different alternative information regarding something. For example, kindergartners sometimes have to do animal research. Their favorite part was the video of their animal along with fun facts which we found in internet. The above example illustrates that people can learn so many things just looking at their phone on their way to the park, or laying down on a sofa.

Further, even if we assume that schools may survive without internet, computers or technology, they are going to be isolated from the world. Technology is the bridge that makes possible connections which are vital for the education of the new generation. For example, through websites, forums and shared documents students and especially teachers do collaborative work which is productive and essential for success. Consequently, teachers use internet to upload stuff which saves them time and keeps them in current with the latest information. In addition, there are different reading and writing recourses or apps that gives an additional alternative to students to read or write on their own, like ‘Raz kids,’’British Council’ ,etc. Teachers are the facilitators of these and they have a chance to see if students are profiting and progressing. In other words, technology in schools is like a wide road system that helps school function better.

Of course, some argue that students are not getting the real learning, but they do not realize that not only books do this. However, isn’t that precisely why today’s learning is more convenient? Today students learn individually, in groups and get instructed effectively. In this globalized world they are more prepared to put themselves where they feel is the best for them. Technology opens many doors to success as long as we know to walk toward them.