Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

One’s education is a very broad process which takes time and involves school, family and society. In fact, someone said that in order to educate a child, three generations around that child needed to be educated. The prompt states that some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit and some believe the opposite. In my opinion, I partially agree with the argument and argue that education is sacred because it helps students learn a plethora of things, concepts or skills that may be used in life.

Firstly the best place where students get the most beside family is school and teachers. Thus, everyone’s dreams are on teachers hands. For example, my first teacher seemed she was the first person that had the highest expectations on me. She freed my mind from any fear by always making it clear and appealing for me. She was passionate. Actually all my teachers were great and inspired me to be a teacher that loves her students. Perhaps, years ago the education was not perfect, but now things have changed. Technology, science and research have gone far regarding teaching and learning.

Secondly, education is the main concern of many nations. The methods, psychology and every decision is based on research. It takes a big number of people to work and make teachers’ job clear and easy. For example, in every school there are extra people that help teachers and students with their great mission of teaching and learning. Research has shown that progressive countries have a well developed education. Consequently, progressive nations keep investing in education and find the latest and the best technologies to teach. They make sure that student’s wellbeing is always the main concern.

In conclusion, even if we assume that education restrains our mind and spirit, we have many reasons to believe the opposite. This would not happen, if nations would invest on educaton and teachers invest on us. Teachers are putting together, passion, love and experience to succeed I their big mission. Now students are free to choose what they think they are best of and follow their dreams because they are supported.