Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free

With the development of formal education, more and more people tend to receive systematic education. It is discussed that formal education may harm people’s freedom and deteriorate their creativity. In my opinion, I agree that this kind of education may restrain student’ freedom while it is still reasonable to promote systematic education for three reasons.

On the one hand, if students all receive formal education and have a more comprehensible curriculum, their academic ability would be developed and universities may have a more reliable criterion to assess their grades. For example, if there isn’t formal education, students would receive different education and the structure of their knowledge may lack of specific subjects. And it would be more difficult for schools to examine their academic ability. In that case, students can be admitted to suitable universities and get higher education they wanted. And the admission will be more fair and easier. Students from poor background may have the chance to receive systematic education which may seem to belong to rich families in the past. Thus, it is useful and reasonable to promote formal education in the long term.

On the other hand, in some subjects such as physics, people’s creativity plays an important role in achieving success. If students all receive formal education without chances to develop their own ideas and explore the world independently, they would lack the ability to get achievements in these areas. Teachers may teach students with a more general pace which may not suit some talented students because the talented may find the lessons too easy. As a result, some students may find themselves losing the freedom to learn what they want to learn and it would be hard for them to study at their own pace.

In addition, government may use the way to promote their own political ideas and influence students implicitly at their young age. If it is the case, the freedom of students to think independently would be harmed. For example, in Korea, textbooks usually regard the government as good and promote students to believe the culture which belonged to other nations as Korean. In this way, many children’s ability of thinking independently are deteriorated.

In conclusion, while it may be true that promoting formal education is a good way to promote fair education and help universities to choose students with more reliable criterion, I argue that we should be aware of the possibility of deteriorating students’ creativity and the danger of government promoting their political opinions through formal education. When promoting formal education, we should pay attention to the possible danger.