The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complai

The business manager of HPH argues that replacing butter with margarine had little influence on their customers based on his interpretations and explanations of two

observations: 1) only 2% of customers complained; 2) customers did not complain about the replacement according to the servers. To evaluate the argument critically, we need to explore other alternative explanations for the facts observed and presented.

Given the fact that only 2% of the customers complained about margarine used to replace butter, the manager believes that 98% of the customers are OK with the replacement. But there might be other reasons why complaint rate was only 2%. For example, perhaps the only way for the customers to complain about the change was to speak to the restaurant staff directly, which the customers may feel reluctant to do for fear of embarrassment or confrontation. If the restaurant had a Facebook page accepting complaints from the customers, the complaint rate might be much higher. Indeed, the customers may have already complained about the change in social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter, which the restaurant is not fully aware of.

Another possible explanation for the relatively low complaint rate is that the restaurant has done a decent job overall serving the customers. The food was generally delicious and the service was very good. As a result, the customers chose not to complain about the change of butter. But the lack of complaints should not be interpreted as the customers being satisfied with the change without stronger evidence to support such an

interpretation.

As for the servers’ report of few complaints after failing to deliver the order, there are also a number of alternative explanations we need to consider. Maybe the servers chose to withhold information about the complaints they received from the customers in order to look good to the management of HPH. More systematic and independent investigation into the customer satisfaction about the change of ingredient is necessary to settle this issue. Such investigation would help determine whether the customers could not distinguish butter from margarine or used the term “butter” more loosely.

Meanwhile, for the lack of complaints in both cases, we also need to consider the possibility that customers decided not to come to HPH for dinner again after the change

about butter. They simply voted against HPH by their feet without taking the trouble to lodge a complaint. We need to track the customer returning rate before and after the

change about butter to decide if the change has cost the restaurant some customers. Indeed, such loss of customers may be more threatening to the restaurant than complaints as it is harder for the manager to recognize the problems when the customers just gave up the restaurant silently.

In conclusion, we need more information about customers’ attitudes towards the change and a number of other issues to decide which explanations were the most appropriate for the observed facts.