Several years ago Groveton College adopted an honor code which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated Groveton s honor code replaced a system in which te

In a recent report, the proportion of college and university students who cheat is increasing. To address the problem, it is argued that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes which succeed in Groveton College based on its successful experience. However, this recommendation is still not strong enough and we need to collect more information to answer some related questions in order to assess the recommendation critically.

To begin with, there is a noticeable drop in the number of cases of cheating during the past 5 years. It is assumed that the number of cases reported by students is real so cases of cheating is decreasing. However, we need to answer the question that if the number is real. Clearly, it is possible that the honor code system is not strict enough to avoid ignoring some cases of cheating. The former system, which requires teachers to oversee students closely, had helped the school discover an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The number of cases is much more than that in the new system. Maybe there is still many cheating existing in the college, but the new system can’t discover them. In this case, the number of cases remains high, so the recommendation would not be reasonable. We need more information to answer the question about the reality of data about the number to assess the argument.

On the other hand, it is likely that there are many other reasons why the number of cases of cheating has dropped in the past 5 years. In order to assess the validity of the honor code system, we need to answer the question if other reasons can explain the decrease observed. Maybe the drop is due to the increasing difficulty of cheating because of the development of technology which can be used to discover cheating. Perhaps there is stricter penalty which stop students from cheating as well. In order to assess the validity of the new system, we need to investigate other reasons related to the drop. After answering this question, we can assess the recommendation more critically.

Finally, we need to ask if the result of the recent survey is reliable. The majority of students said that they would more likely not to cheat when the new system is available. However, it is still unreasonable to assume that students would cheat less under the honor code system without answering the reliability of the survey. Maybe the number of students being interviewed is too small to make a conclusion, and they may lie in the survey to avoid being punished because of cheating. If it is this case, it would be possible that cheating is still universal in the college. Thus, the argument is not strong enough.

In conclusion, we still need more information to answer questions mentioned above to assess the validity of the recommendation.