The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine quot A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sl

According to the article, the author believes that a business ought to only hire people who sleep less than 6 hours per night in order to success. Based on the study about Mentian advertising executives, the argument is very weak because some assumptions are not reliable.

Assuming that the study focused on advertising companies’ executives is convincing, the author argues that the association between the success of business and the average sleeping hours per night is cogent. However, the study has only rated 300 workers. The sample size is too small to lead to a reliable conclusion. Maybe the connection between sleeping hours and higher profit is just a coincidence. In addition, maybe the executives had lied in the research because they didn’t want to be seen as lazy. If the study itself is not cogent, the result is likely to be unreliable.

Even if the study is reliable, it is not wise to assume that other kinds of businesses would be the same as the advertising industry. The executives rated are all in the advertising industry. Maybe workers in advertising industry need to sleep less and work longer, while others don’t need to. Thus, It is not reasonable to apply the result of the study to all kinds of businesses.

In addition, if it is true that the connection between less sleeping hours and higher profit play an important role in all business, it would still be difficult for companies to only hire people who sleep less than 6 hours per night. In the argument, the author assume that it is feasible to take such an action in choosing workers. But actually it is quite difficult to do that, because the candidates may lie to gain the job opportunities. It is difficult for companies to prove the truth as well. Thus, the assumption about the feasibility is not reliable.

In conclusion, the argument is not very strong unless these assumptions mentioned above are proved to be true. We need more information about the reliability of the study, the relation of that in other industries and the feasibility of measurements.