The council of Maple County concerned about the county s becoming overdeveloped is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county But the council is also concerned that such a restriction by limiting the

The council of Maple County predicts that the housing prices will see a dramatic increase if the proposed measure passed. Hoping to prevent the county from being overdeveloped, the measure aims to restrict the supply of new housing. Based on the success in Chestnut County without increase in housing prices and the failure in Pine County where has seen a significant increase in housing prices, the council then argue that Maple County will face the same problem as Pine County if the measure passed. However, the argument is not very strong and there are some questions need to be answered.

Firstly, while it is reasonable to assume that the housing prices will increase with the restriction on the supply of new residential housing, we still need more information about the population situation in these three counties. As we know, if the population in Maple County is significantly more than that in Pine County, it would be more likely to see the increase in housing prices. Otherwise, maybe the housing prices in Maple County will not increase so much. And if the people living in Maple County are mostly the old and have little interest in buying a new house, the property prices would be more stable than predicted. Thus, we need to ask if the population in Maple County is similar to the other two counties or if it has some special features such as many old people.

Secondly, we need to ask if the farmland is an important source of new housing area. By preventing the development of existing farmland, the area suitable to new residential housing is likely to decrease. But if the farmland in Maple County only accounts for a small part of the suitable area, the supply of new housing would not see a dramatic drop. In that case, the housing prices maybe not increase and remain stable. However, if the answer to this question is that the farmland is the only source of new housing area, the housing prices would be more likely to double.

Finally, the question about the overall economic development in these counties need to be answered. As we all know, the housing prices is not only related to the population size or the proportion of land. The whole development of the county also plays an important role in housing prices. If the economy in Maple County is more likely to decrease in the next 5 years, the young generation may remove to big cities to find job opportunities which may lead the housing prices in Maple County to decrease. And if the overall development in Pine County was quite good in the past few years, it would be reasonable to see the increase in the housing prices.

Overall speaking, it is not wise to make the argument that the housing prices in Maple County will increase just based on the two facts that happened in other counties. If we want to make the argument more strong and more convincing, we need find the answers to these questions mentioned above. And then, we can predict what will happen if the measure passed.