The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine quot A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sl

According to the article, the author believes that a business ought to only hire people who sleep less than 6 hours per night in order to success. Based on a recent study focused on the relationship between sleeping hours and success in business, the argument is very weak because some assumptions made are not reliable.

Assuming that the study focused on advertising companies’ executives is convincing, the author argues that the association between the success of business and the average sleeping hours per night is cogent. However, the study has only rated 300 workers. The sample size is too small to lead to a reliable conclusion. Maybe the connection between sleeping hours and higher profit is just a coincidence. In addition, maybe the executives had lied in the research because they didn’t want to be seen as lazy. We don’t know the way used in the research to assess the sleeping hours, so the average number of sleeping hours maybe unreliable as well. If the study itself is not cogent, the result is likely to be flawed.

Even if the study is reliable, it is not wise to assume that other kinds of businesses would be the same as the advertising industry. The executives rated are all in the advertising industry. As we know, people working in advertisement face the problem of heavy working tasks. Maybe workers in advertising industry need to sleep less and work longer, while others don’t need to. In some kinds of business, people may need to sleep more to keep careful. Thus, It is not reasonable to apply the result to all kinds of businesses.

In addition, if it is true that the connection between less sleeping hours and higher profit play an important role in all business, it would still be difficult for companies to only hire people who sleep less than 6 hours per night. In the argument, the author assume that it is feasible to take such an action in choosing workers. But actually it is quite difficult to do that, because the candidates may lie to obtain the job opportunities. It is also difficult for companies to assess the sleeping hours per night needed by workers as well. Thus, the assumption about the feasibility is not reliable.

In conclusion, the argument is not very strong unless these assumptions mentioned above are reasonable. We still need more information about the reliability of the study, the relationship in other industries and the feasibility of measurements to assess the argument.