Teachers salaries should be based on their students academic performance Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most compelling r

With the development of education, people began to consider the criterion of teachers’ salaries. While some people believe that the salaries should be related to students’ academic grades to encourage students to get better marks, I do disagree with this opinion because this behaviour may lead to heavy stress for students, a misleading way of teaching and inequity.

To begin with, it is understandable that many people argue that teachers’ revenue should be assessed based on students’ academic performance. In this case, teachers may be more likely to pay more attention to students’ grades and try to teach them in a more effective way, which may finally lead to the success in students’ academic grades. However, I believe that this behaviour may make students doubt themselves. For example, in China, students’ final admission do effect their teachers’ salaries. This policy significantly deteriorate many students’ self-esteem because many teachers use the rank of their grades to assess their ability, which made the students who perform worse to doubt their abilities to success in the future. In this case, this behaviour do harm students’ confidence while motivating them to achieve better grades.

In addition, this policy may lead to heavier burden on students and lead to inequity. Take China’s situation as an example again. In China, many students in high school face the stress of being admitted to a good university. Many experienced teachers decide to teach more talented students and ask the school to change the arrangement of teachers because of the salaries. As a result, there is a possibility that students with poorer academic performance are more likely to receive poorer education in their future which may lead to a larger gap between their academic performance and other students’. In this case, this recommendation will result in deterioration in the equity in education.

Maybe some people still believe that the recommendation may give talented students more opportunities to learn at their own pace and achieve more in their academic performance, but it is clear that this recommendation may lead to misleading ways of teaching as well. For example, teachers may focus on the final answers of questions and making students get higher marks in exam instead of making students really understand the knowledge itself. This teaching method will also harm students’ creativity and result in less opportunities to success in their higher education such as PhD programs. If it is this case, the recommendation would finally make talented students fay away from success.

In conclusion, while it may seem reasonable to relate teachers’ salaries with students’ higher academic grades, I disagree with the recommendation because of factors mentioned above. Although there are some reasons seemed acceptable to adopt the recommendation, I believe that it would not be a wise decision due to the possible harmful results.